Gas Fees Calculation

Hi guys, my name is Matteo and I’m an italian visual artist, I’m new to NFTs and Rarible but I’m not that new to the crypto world. Therefore I’m having some issues at understanding the gas fees applied for creating a token… I tried calculating manually the fees like this:
-I’ve searched online and found a lot of gas price indicator sites, I chose the average price at that moment in GWEI
-I multiplied the value by 21000 and converted it in ETH (this way I found a value that I call “A”)
-I then went on Rarible and tried to create a token, the first fee was about 2.5 times A.
-I didn’t go on so I don’t know the second fee…
Now, the question is, even supposing they wanted a really fast transaction and so used an higher quantity of gas, how is it possible the result is more than twice the expected result? I’m sure I’m missing something… (Rarible additional fees? How much are they? Where can I find indications about them?)
Thank you in advance for your help, if there is anything unclear just ask!
Thank you so much,
Matteo

2 Likes

At least you were careful enough to check first before paying.
I also tried to do my first NFT yday and had a bad experience on Rarible.

The payment section shows a Part 1 fee, which i paid, not knowing that there is a Part 2 fee! The Part 2 fee was so much higher and it didn’t make sense… so i refreshed the page and the page went straight to homepage.

I thought no worries as most ecommerce sites i used always save your incompleted listings. But my ‘ITEMS’ page showed nothing and the Part 1 fees were already deducted and gone. So my listing was not saved, no NFT loaded, money gone.

I’m still waiting for support to reply to my email. But i read that most people don’t get any response.

I am a crypto hopeful and this Rarible isn;t doing the crypto potential any justice.