Smart contract question (can 2 artists split revenue)

Hey guys, total noob here, so please excuse me, but I didn’t find the answer to this in all my searching:

Situation: Myself and another artist are making an NFT, and we want to set up the contract like this…We both give our ETH address, and have 50% of the sale go into my account and 50% into my fellow artist’s account. Then every time the NFT gets resold, we want to keep 20% of the profits (so 10% to me, and 10% to my fellow artist, and 80% to the person selling the NFT).

Doesn’t sound like too complicated a smart contract to me, just not sure Rarible can make this happen. I would hope they have prepared for multiple artists creating and earning from an NFT, but can’t find info anywhere. Anyone let me know if that’s possible?

Thanks SO much!
Mike

2 Likes

Hi @HoneyTrek, welcome :slight_smile:

Foundation can do it so I know it is technically possible; but for Rarible, you should have a look at this thread that has already asked the question about multiple artist’s split

2 Likes

Hi and welcome among us @HoneyTrek

@SMARTPopArtist’s answer will help you.

If you have any further question, don’t hesitate :slight_smile:

thanks for the link SmartPop, but I didn’t see anything on that link about splitting the profits from an NFT between two artists that co-produce an NFT. Have any idea if that is possible now, or if it will be once the Rarible Protocol releases?

1 Like

didn’t see anything at that link that speaks to splitting the profits (and resale profits) between two artists. Any idea Sheratan?

1 Like

Hi @HoneyTrek, the whole theme of that thread says just one artist of a minted piece can own that piece

It seems that hasn’t satisfied your query so I think the best option then is to contact the Rarible team directly to query if it’s something that can be added in the future (similar to FDN)

I read this morning that they’re now promising to get back to queries within 72 hours

1 Like